Ice Cream + Cupcakes = Yum-O!

This is my very first entry into a food blogging event.  It’s rather intimidating when you consider all of the amazing foodie talent out there- and not only in the creating/making of the food, but also the food photography and styling ( which I am terrible at ).  But when the famed Stef of Cupcake Project announced she was co-hosting an Ice Cream Cupcake Roundup ( along with Tina & Bethany of Scoopalicious ), I couldn’t resist entering.  I LOVE cupcakes and I LOVE ice cream!  Eating them both in the same bite is heaven for me.

Now I’ve already seen a couple entries and I must say, they put my little cupcakes to shame, but here they are nonetheless…

I decided to do Cherry Vanilla Ice Cream Cupcakes because that is Chris’ favorite ice cream and I didn’t want to be eating these all by my lonesome.  I thought using his favorite ice cream would entice him to eat more than one…and more than one he did eat! :)

I wanted to make a cherry vanilla flavored cupcake and did some google searches, but couldn’t really find anything that appealed to me. I decided to just go with a vanilla cupcake batter and add grenadine syrup. I momentarily thought about adding chopped fresh cherries instead of using the syrup, but 1) I was too lazy to go to the store and 2) my budget can’t afford $4/lb cherries. The cupcakes didn’t really end up with a cherry taste despite my adding 1/4 c of grenadine to the batter. When cherries are on sale, maybe I’ll try to make a fresh cherry cupcake.

The first time I tried this, I thought I didn’t fill the cups very much, but apparently I guessed incorrectly because this is what happened:

I got regular sized cupcakes. :P Thinking back, I should have just scooped out some of the cake and piped the ice cream in the middle. Maybe next time ( and there is going to be a next time because these were dee-licious! ). I tried again and had better success the second time around.

After freezing the cupcakes, I piped the cherry vanilla ice cream on top. I also tried scooping the ice cream in and smoothing it over with a knife. That didn’t work as well because the ice cream wasn’t soft enough. Piping it softened the ice cream up a bit faster from the warmth of my hands.

I frosted them with cream cheese frosting after the second round of freezing. Again, it was easiest to pipe the frosting on. Smearing it on with a knife melted the ice cream and the frosting just slid around. I really need to work on my presentation skills. The consistency of the frosting wasn’t quite right for piping ( it was too soft still ), but I was in a hurry.

Everyone thought they were very tasty and I had several requests to make them again soon. This is going to be a favorite summertime treat ( as long as I can handle baking in the heat ;) ).

    Cherry Vanilla Cupcakes
    ( a slightly adapted version of Amy Sedaris’ Vanilla Cupcakes- recipe via HTEAC )
    1 1/4 c flour
    1 1/4 t baking powder
    1/4 t salt
    6 T unsalted butter
    3/4 c sugar
    1 egg
    1 t vanilla
    1/2 c milk
    1/4 c grenadine syrup
    1. Preheat oven to 350. Mix dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
    2. Cream butter and sugar together in a medium sized bowl. Beat in egg and vanilla.
    3. Starting with the dry ingredients, alternate adding flour mix and milk, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the grenadine.
    4. Divide batter evenly among cups. Only fill cups half as much as you would for regular sized cupcakes. Bake for 12-15 mins or until toothpick comes out clean. I forgot about mine and they got a little crispy, but they still tasted fine.
    Cream Cheese Frosting
    ( I don’t like my frosting super sweet so I don’t add much powdered sugar )
    4 T cream cheese
    1 T unsalted butter
    1/2 t vanilla
    1 – 2 c powdered sugar or to taste
    milk (optional)
    1. Beat cream cheese and butter until smooth. Add vanilla.
    2. Slowly beat in cream cheese until it is as sweet as you like it. Thin with milk if the frosting is too thick.

Chris said the ratio of frosting, ice cream and cupcake should be equal. As you can tell from the picture of the cupcake cut in half, that wasn’t the case. I’d definitely go heavier on the cake next time and lighter on the ice cream. I don’t know about adding more frosting though. It was just the right amount for me.

11 Comments

Filed under blog event, cupcakes

11 responses to “Ice Cream + Cupcakes = Yum-O!

  1. I’m so honored that you made the ice cream cupcake event your first blogging event! The cupcakes look great!! I love the idea of cherry vanilla. I’m sure it would be a huge crowd pleaser!

    FYI – I’m not sure if it will help or not, but I had similar problems getting grenadine to be strong enough to flavor a cupcake. I ended up poking holes in the cupcake and drizzling in grenadine syrup after the cupcake was done.

    http://www.cupcakeproject.com/2008/01/shirley-temple-cupcakes-valentines-day.html

  2. kamaile

    Thanks for the tip Stef…hadn’t thought of just pouring the syrup over the cake. I’ll have to give that a try.

  3. Cherry vanilla cupcakes with vanilla ice cream and cream cheese frosting sound really good!

  4. These are BEAUTIFUL — I love the cut away image best of all. They sound SO yummy too. Man, am I going to get fat!

    Bethany@Scoopalicious

  5. I think these sound so delicious! I’m going to be saving this recipe!

  6. Pingback: Bottle Baby « Our Ohana

  7. Yes, they were delightful. They will be an on goin request. ;-)

  8. Ivy

    You’re cupcake creation is just sooo pretty!I love how you swirled the cupcake flavors.
    When I have a little girl, I will make these for her birthday party. :)

  9. Gorgeous cupcakes that look just like summer in a cupcake liner. I bet they are delicious!

  10. Pingback: What is This? « Our Ohana

  11. Pingback: Ice Cream Cupcake Roundup Results | Cupcake Project

Leave a Reply

