Shrimp Lo Mein

I based this off of Coconut & Lime’s recipe for chicken lo mein.  My husband’s a little on the picky side and doesn’t like shiitake mushrooms or bamboo shoots so I left those out.  I also used shrimp ( obviously ) instead of chicken.

veggies for the lo mein

I wish I had lightning quick knife skills, but alas I don’t, so it took me a bit longer to prep the veggies than I would have liked. My noodles were also super long and kind of stuck together ( maybe I overcooked them? ) so it was a bit hard to get them tossed well with the veggies. The first servings had lots of noodles and not many veggies while the last servings had lots of veggies and little noodles. I need to work on my noodle tossing technique. Overall, it was a tasty dinner.

    Shrimp Lo Mein
    (click through the link above for the original recipe)

    1/2 lb shrimp
    2 carrots, julienned
    2 stalks celery, diagonally sliced
    1/2 lb snowpeas
    1/2 lb broccoli, cut into florets
    2 green onions, sliced
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    1 in piece of ginger, minced
    2 T canola oil
    lo mein noodles ( cooked according to the directions on the package )

    for the omelet ( I made a small one for Chris cause I can’t eat eggs ):

    1 egg
    1 green onion, sliced ( I only used the bottom and a bit of the green part )
    drizzle sesame oil

    for the sauce:

    3 rounded T hoisin sauce
    3 T rice wine vinegar ( I just used regular rice vinegar cause that’s what I had on hand )
    3 – 4 T water ( I ended up using a little more cause the sauce was thicker than I like )

    In a small bowl, whisk the sauce ingredients together and set aside. Mix the omelet ingredients together in another small bowl. Pour into a hot, nonstick skillet and cook through. Remove to a plate and slice into strips. Heat the oil in a large skillet or wok. Add the shrimp and cook until barely opaque. Push shrimp to the side and add ginger, garlic and veggies. Stir fry until the shrimp and veggies are cooked. ( I liked my veggies to still be a bit on the crispier side so I didn’t cook them very long. The shrimp didn’t take long to cook either. ) Toss shrimp and veggies with sauce and noodles. Top with omelet and more green onion if desired.

Leave a comment

Filed under Asian, seafood

Leave a Reply

