White Trash Cupcakes

I saw this recipe for Chocolate Cherry Dr. Pepper Cupcakes and knew I had to make them.  My father-in-law LOVES Dr. Pepper so when they came over for dinner last weekend, I decided it was time to bake ’em up.  I told one of my friends that I was making DP cupcakes and she immediately responded with, “That is so white trash.”  Oh well.  If being white trash means I can have DP in cupcake form, then white trash I’ll be.  ( I haven’t tried them yet, but I did freeze one- ok, maybe 4 or 5- for myself. ) The photo on So Sinful It’s Sweet‘s blog looked pretty gourmet to me. Alas, not so much with mine.

I need to work a bit on piping skills. Until then, this is what you get. These smelled like Texas sheet cake with Dr. Pepper in them. Chris said the DP was more of a background flavor. He also liked them better after they were refrigerated.

    Chocolate Cherry Dr. Pepper Cupcakes
    ( I made a half recipe and got 16 cupcakes. For the full recipe, click through the link above )
    1 c + 2 T Dr Pepper
    1/4 c maraschino cherry syrup ( I used grenadine )
    2 oz unsweetened chocolate, roughly chopped
    1/2 c butter
    1 c sugar
    1/2 t baking soda
    1/2 t baking powder
    pinch of salt
    3/4 t cinnamon
    1/4 t vanilla
    2 T sour cream
    1 1/4 c flour
    1 egg, lightly beaten
    Preheat the oven to 325. In a small saucepan, bring the DP and cherry syrup to a boil. Place chocolate and butter into a bowl and pour the hot DP over it. Cover and let sit for about 10 mins. Whisk the mixture until smooth. Stir in the sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, vanilla and sour cream. Add the flour in 2 parts, alternating with the egg. Whisk until smooth. This is a very liquidy batter so don’t be too worried if you think it’s runny. Fill cupcake cups and bake for 15 – 20 mins or until it passes the toothpick test.
    7 Minute Cherry Frosting
    ( I made a quarter of the original recipe and it made tons! Maybe we’re just not frosting people. Again, click through the link above for the full recipe )
    1 egg white
    pinch cream of tartar
    1/4 – 1/2 c maraschino cherry syrup ( again I used grenadine )
    8 oz powdered sugar
    pinch of salt
    Measure all ingredients into a bowl ( I used a glass one ). Start with half the cherry syrup and add more to taste. Beat with a hand mixture for 1 minute. Place bowl over a pot of boiling water ( make sure the bowl isn’t in direct contact with the water ). Beat for 7 minutes, adding more syrup to taste and to get the consistency you want. Chris wanted lots of cherry syrup so I probably used 1/2 c of syrup- maybe even more. As you’re beating, make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl. And as a side note, don’t try to lift the bowl up to check if the water is steaming or not. Steam burns are not your friend.
Leave a comment

Filed under cupcakes

Leave a Reply

