Variation on Crunchy Granola

I posted this granola recipe on my family blog a while back.  I make it very plain and simple- just oats, almonds and craisins.  I decided to try something different this time around.  It’s not too bad, but I think I like my simple almond-craisin granola better.

the finished product

    Crunchy Granola 2.0

    1 1/2 c brown sugar, lightly packed
    1/2 – 1 t cinnamon
    1/2 c water
    4 t vanilla
    1/2 t salt ( I would use sea salt or kosher salt…table salt gave off strange smelling fumes from the chemicals in it )
    6 c old fashioned oats
    1/2 c chopped almonds
    1/4 c chopped walnuts
    1/4 c craisins
    1/3 c chopped dried apples

    1. Preheat oven to 275. Measure the brown sugar, cinnamon and water into a microwave safe bowl. Stir to mix. ( I’m such a dork, but this is my favorite part. The sugar : water ratio is huge, but when you add the water the sugar instantly turns into quicksand. I enjoy watching it. )

    going………going……..gone

    2. Microwave on high for 3 – 5 mins or until sugar is dissolved. While the syrup is cooking in the microwave, measure out the oats, nuts and dried apples into a large bowl ( the dried apples I had still had a lot of moisture in them…apple chips would have been perfect to stir in at the end ).

    3. When the syrup is done cooking, stir in the vanilla and salt. Pour the syrup over the oat/nut mixture and stir to coat. Pour onto a parchment lined or greased cookie sheet ( preferably one with shallow sides so granola doesn’t go flying when you stir ).

    4. Bake for 1 – 1 1/2 hours ( I like my granola crunchy crunchy ), stirring occasionally. After the granola is finished baking, add craisins. Store in an airtight container.

My favorite way to eat this granola is just with milk, but it’s also good with yogurt and fresh fruit. Or just by itself. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under snacks

3 responses to “Variation on Crunchy Granola

  1. That granola looks good! I have been wanting to try making granola for a while now.

  2. Thank you so much for this recipe. I have been searching for a granola recipe that does not use honey since Monkette can not have it. You are the first one i have seen. i will definitely be trying it once I get some almonds.

  3. kamaile

    Kevin- I like homemade granola so much more than store bought. And it’s so easy to make. 🙂

    Nicole- Hope this recipe works out for you. It’s low fat so no butter, corn syrup, etc. It’s easily adaptable to your own tastes and you can make it super crunchy which is what I like best.

Leave a Reply

