What’s for Dinner? 5/18 – 5/24

I chickened out Saturday and passed on the soy cheese. I ate leftovers instead. I’m continually surprised by Eating Well dishes. I really liked the Black Bean Croquettes. They ended up being a nice, light meal. The croquettes also reheated well, making great leftovers.  I’m slowly getting used to the food allergy diet.

Seems to be the week of rice.  My parents would be proud ( I don’t eat rice nearly as much as I did when I was living at home ).  Here’s what’s up for Menu Plan Monday:

Sunday- Crock Pot Sweet & Sour Ribs, Rice & Carrot Sticks

Monday- leftover ribs

Tuesday- Fried Rice w/ Chicken

Wednesday- Souvlaki (lamb or beef), Spanakorizo & Cucumber Salad

Thursday-  leftover souvlaki

Friday- Lemon Thyme Tilapia Packets & Rice

Saturday- Asian Style Grilled Chicken, Rice & Sugar Snap Peas

Check out more menus here.

3 Comments

Filed under menu

3 responses to “What’s for Dinner? 5/18 – 5/24

  1. Kim

    Your menu looks fantastic! I had to go back and find the recipe for the black bean croquettes… I think I’ll have to give it a go =) Cheers!

  2. kamaile

    Thanks! 🙂 It might be a bit hard to sell the black bean croquettes to little kids, but I thought they were fantastic. My husband is picky, but he liked them with tortilla chips.

  3. Kim

    I was going to reply to your comment on my livejournal, but I don’t think it’d get e-mailed to you so here I am again *L*

    The recipe I found for onion soup mix is as follows:
    3/4 cup dry minced onion
    1/3 cup beef bouillon granules
    1/4 cup onion powder
    1/4 tsp sugar
    1/4 tsp celery seed

    To make soup- combine 4 cups water with 5 tablespoons mix. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat, simmer for 10 minutes.

    Recipe yeilds 20 tablespoons. 5 tablespoons should be approximately one envelope of soup mix.

    I should add that I haven’t tried this yet, but it seems pretty straightforward!

Leave a Reply

