Fragrant Fish Soup

Before we got married, I don’t think Chris ate much fish ( other than fish & chips 😛 ). I come from a family that eats quite a bit of fish so I was hoping he’d learn to like having fish on the dinner table. Thankfully, Chris discovered he likes tilapia and salmon.

I try to squeeze fish into our menu every other week or so, but we were eating it the same way all the time it seemed- baked with lemon, olive oil and whatever herbs I had on hand. Tasty, but kinda boring after a while. I’m always on the look-out for good fish recipes. This one’s a keeper.

We had this for dinner a couple weeks ago and it was surprisingly tasty. Even though it’s not a cold soup, I would eat this in the summer. It’s light and tasty.

    1 c jasmine rice — I used calrose
    2 c water
    zest & juice of 1 lemon
    4 cups chicken broth
    1 lb tilapia fillets
    4 c watercress, tough stems removed
    1 c finely shredded carrot
    1/4 c thinly sliced mint — I used cilantro
    2 green onions, finely chopped
    1. Measure the rice into a medium saucepan. Wash and drain. Add the water and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for 15-20 mins. or until all the water is absorbed. Stir in lemon juice and zest.
    2. Meanwhile, bring the broth to a boil in another saucepan over med-hi heat. Reduce the heat so the broth remains steaming, but not simmering. Add the fish and cook just until tender, about 5 mins. Remove and break into bite-size pieces.
    3. Divide the rice between 4 bowls. Top with equal portions of fish, watercress, carrot, cilantro and green onions. Ladle 1 cup of broth into each bowl and serve.

I’ve never had watercress before so I tried a piece by itself. It’s got some bite to it and is a little bitter so I was afraid Chris wouldn’t like it, but he didn’t have a problem with the watercress at all. Maybe all my work to expand his food horizons is paying off.

3 Comments

Filed under Asian, seafood, soup

3 responses to “Fragrant Fish Soup

  1. We have fish often, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever made a fish soup like this! It sounds delicious!

  2. This recipe sounds really good and unique. I love tilapia and watercress–so I am looking forward making this! Thanks!

  3. I didn’t like seafood when I was a kid but now I am really enjoying it. This fish soup looks nice and fresh and good!

Leave a Reply

