Strawberry Jam

My mom made the best strawberry jam. It wasn’t fancy shmancy…just really good freezer jam. It wasn’t overly sweet or too gelatin-y. The first of the strawberries has hit the market so I decided to try my hand at making my own jam. I wish I had gotten my mom’s recipe before she passed away, but alas, I didn’t think to. I hope to wrestle her recipes from my dad for a bit so I can make a cookbook of all our family’s favorites.

Anyway, not having any reference, I scanned my pectin options at the grocery store, grabbed one and headed home. After opening the box, I wish I had picked a different one. Strawberry jam made with this particular pectin required 8 1/2 c of sugar!! The fresh (not cooked) jam had less sugar, but called for corn syrup. I try not to cook with corn syrup. I forged ahead despite my disgust at all that sugar and smooshed and cooked the strawberries, cringing a bit as I dumped in my huge bowl of sugar.

The verdict? Back to the drawing board. This is not anywhere close to what my mom’s strawberry jam was like.  I remember her cooking everything together, but it didn’t have a cooked taste like this jam does.  It’s not terrible tasting, but it’s too sweet for my liking and doesn’t have the same bright, fresh taste my mom’s had.  I’ll have to try again.  Jam anyone?

2 Comments

Filed under dips & spreads

2 responses to “Strawberry Jam

  1. I just read your entry about strawberry jam and couldn’t believe it. I just made strawberry jam for the first time in my life yesterday and was very pleased with the results.

    I used:
    2 big handfuls of strawberries (1 handful is when I cupped both my hands together like a small bowl)
    and a little less than 1 cup of sugar.

    I started by hulling and cutting up the strawberries. I put them in a sauce pan and added the sugar. I increased the heat until it was boiling. I took a plate that was in my freezer for just this reason. I put a small amount on the cold plate to see if it would gel. Once it did, my jam was done. I put some in the fridge and enjoy in at breakfast.

    I hope this helps!!

  2. kamaile

    Hmmm…I hadn’t thought of not using pectin. This sounds much better than what I did.

Leave a Reply

