Black Bean Croquettes

When I saw this recipe in one of the recent Eating Well E-Newsletters, it intrigued me. My mom would make turkey croquettes with our Thanksgiving leftoevers and I loved those, but croquettes made of black beans? I do love black beans though so I thought I’d give them a try and I really liked them. They were a hard sell for Chris ( no meat?!? 😯 ), but I gave him some tortilla chips and he ate them up.

    Black Bean Croquettes w/ Fresh Salsa
    ( recipe courtesy of Eating Well  )

    2 15 oz cans black beans, rinsed
    1 t ground cumin
    1 c frozen corn kernels, thawed
    1/4 c plus 1/3 c plain, dry breadcrumbs– I used cornflake crumbs  since I made this during my non-wheat diet period. I think I actually prefer these over breadcrumbs.
    2 c finely chopped tomatoes– Next time I would use more tomatoes, maybe 1/2 c more. The salsa wasn’t tomato-y enough for me
    2 green onions, sliced
    1/4 c chopped, fresh cilantro
    1 t chili powder, divided
    1/4 t salt
    1 T olive oil
    1 avocado, diced

    1. Preheat oven to 425. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.
    2. Mash the black beans and cumin with a fork in a large bowl until there are no whole beans( I still had some whole beans left…I thought they added nice texture ). Stir in corn and 1/4 c breadcrumbs. Combine tomatoes, green onion, cilantro, 1/2 t chili powder and salt in a medium bowl. Stir 1 cup of the tomato mixture into the black beans.
    3. Combine the 1/3 cup breadcrumbs with the other 1/2 t of chili powder and the olive oil in a small bowl until the crumbs are coated with oil.
    4. Divide the black bean mixture into 8 equal portions and form into balls. Lightly press the croquettes in the breadcrumb mixture, turning to coat completely. Place on the prepared baking sheet.
    5. Bake until golden brown, approximately 20 mins.
    6. Stir the avocado into the remaining tomato mixture and serve with the croquettes.

We ate these with some tortilla chips and rice. The salsa was yummy, especially with the avocado. I love avocadoes…yum! Nice light, vegetarian meal.

2 Comments

Filed under FAF, rice & beans, vegetarian

2 responses to “Black Bean Croquettes

  1. This looks fabulous! I love black beans. I’d have to call it something different to trick the kids into eating it, but this is a super idea!

  2. Pingback: What’s for Dinner? 9/15 - 9/21 « Simple Food

Leave a Reply

