Fried Rice w/ Chicken

This past Mother’s Day was my first and my hubby did great in the gift department.  He got me a wok, a kitchen scale and a couple of cookbooks. Score! 😀 One of the cookbooks is devoted solely to wok cooking and this is the first recipe I tried. Though the ingredient list and directions are short, it’s a really tasty dish. Both of us enjoyed it a lot. The cucumber was a nice, cool contrast to the hot rice and chicken.

    Fried Rice with Chicken
    (serves 4, recipe from the Wok cookbook purchased from Ikea)
    2-3 garlic cloves, minced
    8 green onions, sliced into rings– Chris isn’t a fan of onions, so I only used 2
    1/2 cucumber, cut into strips
    5 tomatoes, peeled and diced– Chris doesn’t like tomatoes either 😆 so I used broccoli cut into florets
    3 T oil– I used canola
    1/2 lb sliced chicken breast
    3 eggs– I omitted these since I couldn’t eat eggs at the time
    2 c steamed short grain rice– I used Calrose
    3 T patis– AKA fish sauce
    white pepper– I just used black pepper
    1 T sugar
    1. Heat the oil in the wok and fry the meat until it is done. Remove and keep warm.
    2. Whisk the eggs (if using) and stir-fry in the oil left in the wok from frying. Add the rice with the garlic, broccoli and the meat and heat up while stirring.
    3. Stir in the patis, pepper and sugar. Put the rice in a bowl and serve garnished with green onion, cucumber strips and diced tomato (if using).

Hmmm…there’s a lot of orange in there.  It seems like I made a lot of modifications.  😛  I really liked the addition of the broccoli and I’m sure the tomatoes would have been tasty as well. Next time I’ll cut up a tomato or 2 just for myself.

1 Comment

Filed under Asian, chicken, FAF, rice & beans

One response to “Fried Rice w/ Chicken

Leave a Reply

