Brazilian Chicken Cutlets w/ Mango Salsa

I’ll admit it.  I’m a Rachael Ray fan.  Well, a fan of her recipes.  I enjoyed 30 Minute Meals when I had cable, but not so much a fan of her talk show (the little jingly noise that sounds EVERY time text comes on the screen?!?  highly annoying).  I do enjoy the cooking she does so sometimes I’ll pop in at the end of her show.

A few weeks ago, Rachael was cooking this up with some guy that I assumed was Brazilian.  It looked really yummy and I had most of the ingredients on hand already so I put it on the menu.  This was really delicious.  Chris even had seconds and he rarely has seconds.

As a side note, I left a comment on Kevin’s Mango Caprese post saying I’ve never had mango in a savory dish.  Uh, how many times have I made mango salsa or some variation of it?  Duh!  It was late for me.  What can I say.  😛 So here is one of the many savory dishes I’ve had with mango.

    Brazilian Chicken Cutlets w/ Mango Salsa
    (adapted from this Rachael Ray recipe)

    4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
    juice of 1 lemon
    3/4 c cilantro, chopped, divided
    1/4 t red pepper flake
    2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
    2 large, ripe mango, pitted and chopped
    3 green onions, chopped
    juice of 1 lime
    1 c flour
    few dashes nutmeg
    salt & pepper to taste
    2 T olive oil

    1. Make a paste for the marinade by mashing the garlic with a pinch of salt. I used the side of my knife, but a spoon would work just as well. Put the garlic paste into a gallon size ziploc bag. Add the lemon juice, 1/2 c of the chopped cilantro, red pepper flake and black pepper.
    2. Pound the chicken breasts to 1/4 inch thickness. Cut the flattened chicken breasts in half. Add these to the marinade in the ziploc bag and close. Make sure the chicken is coated with the marinade (I turned the bag every once in a while). Marinade for about 15 – 20 mins.
    3. Prepare the sauce while the chicken marinates. Combine the mango, green onion, 1/4 c of cilantro, lime juice and salt and pepper in a medium sized bowl. Set aside.
    4. Heat the olive oil in a medium skillet over med-hi heat. Combine the flour with the nutmeg and salt and pepper. Remove your chicken from the marinade and shake off excess. Dredge in flour and brown in hot skillet- about 4 – 5 mins on each side. Drain on a paper towel lined plate.
    Serve with mango salsa.

I changed a handful of things with this recipe. I made a few substitutions, left some stuff out. I can’t seem to leave recipes alone. 😛 She double dipped her cutlets before browning them, but I thought one dredge in the flour was good enough. There was enough marinade left on the cutlets to help the flour stick. I suppose they may have been crunchier with breaded coating, but I liked them the way I made them. The red beans & rice I made to go with the chicken and salsa was really tasty as well.

3 Comments

Filed under chicken

3 responses to “Brazilian Chicken Cutlets w/ Mango Salsa

  1. That looks like a tasty meal! I really like a nice simple mango salsa as well.

  2. Pingback: Red Beans & Rice « Simple Food

  3. You’ve got some great food/pictures up here! This dish looks great—and who couldn’t love tilapia and salmon?!?!? Yummy!

Leave a Reply

