A First

I’ve never had fritters of any kind (well, at least to my knowledge) and Deborah of Taste and Tell heaped gobs of praise on these Cheddar Corn Fritters (her photo is much better than mine). I just had to try them. They were pretty tasty and very easy to make. I’ll be on the hunt for more fritter recipes to add to my repertoire.

    I made a half recipe and ended up with about 14 – 16 fritters…I guess I made mine small.  OOPS– I originally posted the amount of corn kernels and bell pepper for a full recipe. The correct amounts are now listed. Sorry ’bout that.   
    1/4 c + 2 T flour
    1 t sugar
    1 t chili powder– I kept this amount the same
    salt & pepper to taste
    1 c corn kernels– I didn’t have any fresh corn on hand
    1 1/2 T diced red or green bell pepper– I omitted this cause Chris hates bell pepper
    1 large egg, lightly beaten
    1/4 c water
    1/4 c grated Cheddar– I used Monterey Jack & next time I would use a bit more cheese
    1 T melted butter
    vegetable oil for frying
    1. Mix the flour, sugar, chili powder and salt & pepper in a medium sized bowl. Set aside.
    2. Mix the corn, peppers, egg, water and cheese in a separate bowl. Add to the flour mixture all at once and stir just until batter is moistened. Stir in melted butter.
    3. Heat about 1/4 inch of oil in a skillet over medium heat (I used my wok and it helped contain the grease spatter) until the oil reaches 350.
    4. Drop spoonfuls of batter into the oil, being careful not to crowd the pan. Fry until golden brown and crisp, about 2 minutes on each side.
    5. Drain fritters on a paper lined plate and season with salt if desired.

We ate half of them one night and the other half the next night. They actually tasted even better to me the next day. I heated them up in a dry skillet over medium heat till they were crisp again. Then I topped them with a little more cheese and toasted them under the broiler of my toaster oven. With a little salsa and sour cream- YUM! 😀 I think pepper jack would be a great cheese for these.

1 Comment

Filed under sides, vegetables

One response to “A First

  1. Corn and cheese fritters sound tasty!

Leave a Reply

