Yummy Strawberry Cupcakes

I braved the heat and baked this past weekend.  I’ve been avoiding turning the oven on unless absolutely necessary because it’s been so stinkin’ hot.  I saw these cupcakes though and they looked so yummy and easy to make that I turned the oven on.  And after the first bite, I didn’t regret it one bit.

The frosting melted a little bit because it was so hot. 😐

Some purists may be anti cake mix, but I’ll use one on occasion. This is a super easy, really yummy recipe. They tasted even better the next day cold out of the fridge.

I’ve made these strawberry cupcakes as well which were also yummy. Alas, no post of those because I took no pictures. Maybe one of these days I’ll do a taste test between these two recipes and see if the homemade cupcakes beat out the mix cupcakes.

    This recipe makes 24 cupcakes
    For the Cupcakes:
    1 package white cake mix
    1 3 oz package strawberry flavored gelatin
    1 c finely chopped strawberries
    3/4 c milk
    3/4 c vegetable oil
    4 eggs
    For the frosting:
    1 c heavy whipping cream
    1 8 oz package cream cheese
    3/4 c granulated sugar– I only used about 1/2 c and it tasted fine
    1 t strawberry flavoring
    1. Preheat your oven to 350. Line the muffin cups with cupcake liners.
    2. In a large bowl, blend all of the cupcake ingredients with a mixer on low for about 30 seconds. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl. Mix the batter on low for another 2 minutes, scraping the bowl as needed.
    3. Divide the batter evenly between the 24 cups, about 3/4 of the way full. Bake the cupcakes for about 20-25 minutes.
    4. Cool the baked cupcakes in the pans for about 5 minutes. Then remove the cupcakes to a cooling rack. Cool completely before frosting.
    5. In a medium sized bowl, whip the cream until stiff peaks form. In a separate medium sized bowl, whip the cream cheese, sugar and flavoring together until the sugar is completely incorporated (it shouldn’t have a grainy feel to it anymore). Fold the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture.

The frosting is not thick enough to pipe- even if you refrigerate it. I overcooked my cupcakes a little because I forgot to put the timer on, but they still came out really moist and delicious. I thought the gelatin would give it a weird flavor, but that wasn’t the case. Yummy cupcakes. Try them! 😀

5 Comments

Filed under cupcakes

5 responses to “Yummy Strawberry Cupcakes

  1. I have no problem with using a cake mix from time to time! These sound so refreshing and delicious!

  2. Ivy

    Wow! There is definitely an epidemic of strawberry cupcakes. hahaha! I just made a batch 2 days ago and it seems everyone is posting their summer strawberries. These look amazing! 🙂

  3. Those cupcakes look good. I like the cream cheese frosting on them.

  4. I’ve had these bookmarked since the day I saw them over at How to Eat a Cupcake. But the heat has kept me from baking them. I like how the frosting looks all dreamy and delicious! 🙂

  5. Cc

    thanks for the recipe… i tried it and the cupcakes tasted good!!! eveyone loved it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

