Chinese Style Tilapia- er White Ruffy

This is the second time I’ve made this dish.  We rather enjoy it.  It’s kind of a salty, sour, sweet, hot combination and tilapia is so mild that it soaks up the flavors quite nicely.  This time, however, I made a mistake and bought white ruffy instead of tilapia.  The white ruffy tasted slightly different than the tilapia, but was still mild flavored.  I can’t exactly pinpoint why, but I wasn’t too crazy about the ruffy.  I’ll have to pay attention better the next time I’m at the meat counter.

    Chinese Style Tilapia
    recipe courtesy of Delish
    1 T olive oil
    3 T rice cooking wine— I used rice wine vinegar
    1 1/2 T low sodium soy sauce
    1/2 T Sriracha chili sauce
    2 cloves garlice, minced
    1/4 t ginger powder
    2-3 green onions, cut into 1 inch pieces
    1 lb tilapia fillets— I just get 2 fillets, one for each of us
    1. Heat the olive oil in a medium sized skillet over med-lo heat. Meanwhile, in a small bowl combine the next 5 ingredients.
    2. Add fish to the skillet and cook for about 1 – 2 minutes. Flip the fish and add the soy mixture and green onions to the skillet.
    3. Lower the heat to low and allow the fish to simmer until it is cooked through and the sauce has reduced. Serve with hot rice.

I’ve never used Sriracha before so I tasted it before I put it in the sauce (the first time I made this I used red chili pepper flakes).  I thought it was a tad bit too hot for Chris so I didn’t put a lot in. It mellowed out during the cooking though so next time I’d add all of it.

2 Comments

Filed under Asian, seafood

2 responses to “Chinese Style Tilapia- er White Ruffy

  1. This odes sound really tasty!

  2. I loooove tilapia. What a great looking dish!

Leave a Reply

