My Hawaiian Plate Special

If you’ve ever eaten at a casual Hawaiian eatery (maybe this one) almost all plate specials include 2 things: rice and mac salad.  This is my version of a Hawaiian plate special, rice and mac salad included.  🙂

I love all foods Hawaiian (except opihi maybe), but rarely eat them because I either don’t have access to the ingredients or the ingredients are too darn expensive.  Most people gag when you mention poi, but I love it and would eat it all the time if I could get my hands on some that didn’t cost an arm and a leg. 

The other day I made some kalua pork in the crock pot.  While definitely not made the traditional way or completely authentic tasting, it was delicious.  I couldn’t find Hawaiian sea salt anywhere so I substituted this sea salt.  I also used hickory flavored liquid smoke and I think it would have been more authentic if I had used mesquite.  This was so easy- gotta love the crock pot!  😀 I’m definitely making this again.

    Crock Pot Kalua Pork
    recipe courtesy of allrecipes
    6 lb pork butt roast– I bought bone-in because it was cheaper
    1 1/2 T Hawaiian sea salt
    1 T liquid smoke flavoring
    1. Pierce the roast all over with a carving fork. Rub the salt all over the roast. Then rub the liquid smoke all over the roast.
    2. Place roast in the crock pot, cover and cook on low for 16 -20 hours (or 8 – 10 hours on high), turning once halfway through the cooking time.
    3. Remove the roast to cool before shredding (I suppose if you have asbestos hands and can stand the heat, you can shred it immediately). If you would like a less greasy dish, pour the juices from the crock pot into a bowl and stick it in the freezer. By the time you’re done shredding the pork, all the fat should have floated to the top. Discard the fat.
    4. Put the shredded pork back in the crock pot and pour the juices back over the meat. Cook an additional 30 minutes to 1 hour on high so the pork can soak up the salty juice. Alternatively, I suppose you could serve the shredded pork as is with the juice on the side, but I don’t think it would taste as good.
    5. Serve with hot rice and mac salad. 🙂
4 Comments

Filed under crock pot, Hawaiian, pork

4 responses to “My Hawaiian Plate Special

  1. I don’t know a whole lot of Hawaiian food, but this has me wanting to make some!

  2. i haven’t ever had the fortune of eating in a hawaiian restaurant (or even of setting foot in hawaii, for that matter), but if this is what i can expect, i’ll tack it on to the list of reasons why i must plan a trip to hawaii immediately. 🙂

  3. I made this recipe this weekend for my husband’s mom and she loved it. The mesquite did make it taste pretty close to authentic. The mac salad is a great thing to eat with any Hawaiian food.

  4. kamaile

    I’m glad they liked it. I cannot find mesquite liquid smoke anywhere. It’s rather annoying.

Leave a Reply

