Hula Shrimp

It seems like anything that includes pineapple is considered Hawaiian. I suppose if you asked someone on the street what fruit they think of if you mention Hawaii, pineapple would be up there. I’m not sure what I would say. Probably something like papaya or guava because that’s mostly what I eat when I’m there. Anyway…

I’m not positive as to why this is called Hula Shrimp other than the fact that hula is a form of Hawaiian dance and pineapples are associated with Hawaii. Whatever you want to call it, it’s good. At least I enjoyed it. I added a jalapeno (my first jalapeno from my garden no less 🙂 ) to add a bit of a spicy kick. The proscuitto lends a nice salty flavor. Bites that included everything- shrimp, pineapple “salsa” and hot rice- were the best in my opinion. I’m not very poetic, but it was a wonderful blend of tastes and textures. Sweet, spicy, slightly sour, salty, cold, hot. Mmmmm…

    Hula Shrimp
    Recipe adpated from this lovely grilling book— this is the third recipe I’ve posted from it. Definitely going to have to purchase it soon.
    For the pineapple salsa
    1 c fresh or canned and drained pineapple– I used canned tidbits
    2 green onions, minced (white part only)
    2 t rice vinegar
    1 t soy sauce
    1 t vegetable oil
    1/2 t fresh grated ginger
    1/4 t black pepper
    1 small jalapeno finally minced
    For the shrimp
    4 slices of paper thin proscuitto
    18-20 shrimp, peeled & deveined– I used raw, tail on shrimp (31-40/lb)
    vegetable oil
    black pepper
    1. Combine all of the salsa ingredients in a small bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to serve. I made this in the morning so the flavors had time to blend.
    2. Cut each slice of prosciutto into 5 equal pieces. Wrap a strip around each shrimp. Spray or brush the shrimp with vegetable oil and season with pepper.
    3. Grill the shrimp over direct high heat until they are just opaque in the center and slightly firm, about 2-4 minutes total. Turn the shrimp about halfway through. Remove from the grill and serve with salsa.
3 Comments

Filed under grill, seafood

3 responses to “Hula Shrimp

  1. looks good! 🙂 a great light summer meal!

  2. Yum! This one sounds like a real winner!

  3. Shrimp with pineapple and prosciutto sounds like a great combination!

Leave a Reply

