Taco Soup

I know a lot of people are sad to see summer go, but I’m definitely more of a fall/winter kind of gal so this past weekend’s cool weather has me excited.  I love the crispness of the air in the morning and the cool breezes.  Yesterday was cold enough that I decided to make some soup.  Taco soup is one of our favorites.  I know there are a bazillion different recipes out there, but this is how we make it at our house.

    Taco Soup
    This recipe makes 4 – 6 servings

    1 – 2 T olive oil
    1 clove garlic, minced
    1 small onion, chopped
    1/2 lb ground beef
    1 – 2 t ground cumin
    1 – 2 t paprika
    1 – 2 T chili powder
    salt & black pepper
    1 14 oz can beef broth
    1 14 oz can diced tomatoes
    1 14 oz can black beans, drained & rinsed
    3/4 c frozen corn kernels
    shredded cheddar
    Fritos or corn chips

    1. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the garlic to the pot and cook until fragrant, about a minute or so. Add the onions. Cook until slightly translucent. Add the hamburger and cook until browned. Stir in the spices. I start with the lowest amount, taste and then adjust the seasonings.
    2. Increase the heat to medium-hi and pour in the broth and tomatoes. Cover, stir and bring to a boil. Boil the soup for about 5 minutes.
    3. Reduce the heat to medium-lo and add the beans and corn. Stir, cover and simmer for about 5 – 10 minutes. Serve with cheese and Fritos.

I’ve also made this with ground chicken and chicken broth. You can make it vegetarian by using vegetable broth, omitting the meat and adding more beans. Sometimes I’ll add 2 different kinds of beans, usually black beans and pinto beans. We love to eat this with Frito’s Scoops. I know some people also serve taco soup with sour cream and green onions. We prefer to keep it simple with the cheese.

5 Comments

Filed under beef, FAF, rice & beans, soup

5 responses to “Taco Soup

  1. I make a big batch of taco soup every year on Super Bowl Sunday. I’ll have to try the Frito’s Scoops. Sounds yummy!
    Stacy

  2. Fall/winter food is definitely my favorite. And I’m really looking forward to it this year – this soup sounds perfect!

  3. whoohoo

    Oh love how simple your recipe is! Can’t wait to try it!! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Taco Soup « Like a broken record

Leave a Reply

