Shrimp & Cream Cheese Wontons

Similar to crab rangoon (I think…I’ve never had crab rangoon, but they sound similar), these were so easy to make, yet so deliciously tasty.  I wish I had a photo of the yummy insides or at least a better photo all around, but I wasn’t patient enough to try and get a decent picture.  These are best piping hot!

    Shrimp & Cream Cheese Wontons
    This recipe makes about 10 wontons
    (You’ll have to forgive my amounts…I just throw everything together and don’t really measure.)
    about 10 large shrimp, peeled and deveined
    2 – 3 ounces of cream cheese, softened
    1 green onion, minced
    1 clove garlic, minced
    salt & pepper
    10 wonton wrappers
    oil for frying
    sweet & sour sauce (optional)
    1. Cook the shrimp until pink and the head curls toward the tail. You can either boil them or pan fry them in a little bit of oil. I pan fried them with the garlic. Cool the shrimp.
    2. Meanwhile, mix the cream cheese, onion and salt and pepper in a small bowl. If the cream cheese is too stiff, you can thin it with a bit of milk. Once the shrimp is cool enough to handle, finely chop it and add to the cream cheese mixture. Stir to combine.
    3. Have a bowl of water handy to “glue” the edges of the wonton together. Place a wonton on your work surface so that it looks like a diamond shape (rather than a square). Place a tablespoon or so of filling in the middle of the wrapper. Moisten the edges of the wonton with water (I just used my finger) and fold the wonton in half, pressing to seal the filling in the wrapper. Try not to let air bubbles in the wrapper.
    4. Fill the bottom of a pan with about 1/8 – 1/4 inch of oil. Heat over medium. When the oil is hot enough (I throw in a wonton wrapper to “test” the oil), fry the wontons on both sides till golden brown. Serve with sweet & sour sauce if desired.
2 Comments

Filed under Asian, seafood, snacks

2 responses to “Shrimp & Cream Cheese Wontons

  1. Yum! These sound so delicious!

  2. I heart these so much. Yummy in my tummy.

Leave a Reply

