My Favorite Cookie

My husband was complaining about the lack of “snacky” foods in the house.  I pointed out that there were plenty of crackers, chips and granola bars in the pantry, but those aren’t “snacky” foods apparently.  With the cooling temperatures, I’ve been able to turn the oven on without feeling guilty about heating up the house.  So I made cookies.

I like lots of different kinds of cookies, but these are my absolute all-time favorite.  I looovve these cookies.  My mom used to buy ginger snaps when we were little, but I never had soft, chewy ginger cookies until I moved away from home and bought them from the store.  These are the perfect cookie to welcome fall and much better than those store bought cookies.

    This recipe makes about 3 – 4 dozen small cookies.
    2 1/4 c flour
    2 t ground ginger
    1 t baking soda
    3/4 t cinnamon
    1/2 t ground cloves
    pinch of salt
    3/4 c vegetable shortening
    1 c sugar
    1 egg
    1/4 c molasses
    1/3 c sugar
    1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients except for the sugar. Whisk to combine and set aside.
    2. In a large bowl, cream the sugar and shortening together until combined. Add the egg and molasses, beating until incorporated. Beat in as much of the flour mixture as possible with the mixer. Stir in the rest of the flour mixture by hand.
    3. Pour the 1/3 c sugar into a small bowl. Roll tablespoons of dough into balls and roll in the sugar. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8 minutes (if you want crunchy cookies, you can bake them an additional 2-3 minutes).
    4. Remove the cookie sheet from the oven and let the cookies cool for a few minutes on the pan. Transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.
1 Comment

Filed under cookies

One response to “My Favorite Cookie

  1. I was never a ginger-snap lover growing up, but they are slowly growing on me. My husband loves them, so I should make him some of these!

Leave a Reply

