Dorie’s Orange Blueberry Muffins

I’ve followed the group Tuesdays with Dorie since it began way back when. These muffins made an appearance early on and I knew I’d make them as soon as I saw them.

I’m too cheap to buy cookbooks willy nilly (although I’ve had to exercise some serious restraint at times), so my habit is to borrow cookbooks from the library to preview them before deciding to purchase or not.  I’ve heard so many good things about Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home To Yours, but it’s taken me this long to check it out.  I have many a recipe bookmarked, but this was my first attempt.

These were pretty good blueberry muffins. Not the best I’ve had, but tasty in their own right. My favorite part was that I could actually taste the honey. I do wish there had been more of an orangey flavor though. Maybe I picked a dud orange. Maybe I didn’t let the sugar hang out with the orange peel long enough.  I’ll have to give these another go sometime soon. 

    Orange Berry Muffins
    recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY

    juice and grated zest of an orange
    about 3/4 buttermilk
    2 eggs
    3 T honey
    1/2 c unsalted butter, melted and cooled
    1/3 c sugar
    2 c flour
    2 1/2 t baking powder
    1/4 t baking soda
    1/4 t salt
    1 c blueberries

    1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees (my oven runs hot, so I did 350). Butter or spray muffin tin. You can also line the cups with paper liners.
    2. Pour the orange juice into a measuring cup. Add enough buttermilk to make 1 cup of liquid. Whisk in the eggs, honey and melted butter.
    3. In a large bowl, rub the sugar and orange zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moistened and fragrant. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. Lumpy batter is okay. Gently stir in the blueberries.
    4. Divide the batter evenly between the muffin cups. Bake for 22 – 25 minutes or until golden brown and springy to the touch. Cool in the muffin tin for about 5 minutes before removing from the pan.

2 Comments

Filed under muffins

2 responses to “Dorie’s Orange Blueberry Muffins

  1. I haven’t tried these muffins, but they are on my list. Too bad my list is soo long!!

  2. Pingback: Cocoa-Nana Muffins « Simple Food

Leave a Reply

