Tomato & Basil Bruschetta

Tomato and fresh basil is one flavor combination that speaks summer to me.  I eat it in salad, pasta and in this case, on my bread.  Unfortunately this mega close-up picture is the best shot I got.  Someday I’ll learn the photography tricks and hopefully my photos will look better.  One issue is that we usually eat really late.  Most nights dinner doesn’t make its appearance until 8 or 9.  There really isn’t much natural light going on around then.  Oh well…c’est la vie.

This is so easy, I feel kinda dumb posting a recipe for it, but everyone does this a little differently I think. Here’s my version.

    Tomato & Basil Bruschetta
    makes enough topping for one baguette

    1 baguette (we buy Crumb Brothers)
    finely shredded mozzarella
    2 -3 tomatoes, finely chopped
    2 T finely chopped, fresh basil
    1 clove garlic, minced
    1 green onion (white part only), minced
    salt & pepper
    red wine vinegar
    olive oil

    1. Preheat broiler. Slice the baguette on the diagonal into 3/4 inch slices. Place slices in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Broil on both sides until slightly charred (about a couple minutes on each side- watch it carefully so it doesn’t burn). Sprinkle each toast lightly with shredded mozzarella.
    2. Combine the tomatoes, basil, garlic and green onion. Season with salt and pepper. Add a splash of vinegar and olive oil. Mix to combine.
    3. Top each cheese toast with tomato mixture. Serve immediately.

I just want to give a plug to my favorite UT bakery- Crumb Brothers (I wish they had a website). I love, love, love, love, loooovvve their bread. Unfortunately, they’re based in Logan. When we moved down to Salt Lake, I seriously had withdrawals. We tried artisan bread from a handful of other bakeries and they just didn’t stack up. Thankfully a grocery store near us carries it. I was elated when I made the discovery. Anyway, if you ever have the chance to get your hands on any of their baked goods- try them. You won’t be sorry.

2 Comments

Filed under snacks, vegetarian

2 responses to “Tomato & Basil Bruschetta

  1. I think I’d be happy just having this for dinner!

  2. Ivy

    I love bruschetta! And yours looks so delicious!

    Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

