Aloha Bread

My mom would make this banana bread quite a bit. I loved to lick the beaters. Mmmm. Good batter = good bread. 🙂 When I moved away from home, I copied the recipe verbatim from the card in her little recipe box. I made this bread a lot. Sometime along the way, my copy was on its last legs and I made a new card with extremely abbreviated directions.

As you can see I still continued to make this bread frequently. Not so much now. This last time I made it, the bread didn’t quite rise like it used to. Perhaps I need to modify the recipe for higher elevation and dry, desert air. Even though it was flat-topped, it was still tasty. My favorite kind of banana bread. Yum!

    Aloha Bread

    2 c flour
    2 t baking powder
    1/2 t salt
    1 t baking soda
    1 c sugar
    1/2 c shortening (I’ve used unsalted butter before and that seems to work ok too)
    2 eggs
    1 c mashed banana
    1 c drained pineapple bits
    1 t grated orange peel
    1 t vanilla

    1. Preheat the oven to 350. Then grease a loaf pan and set it aside. Sift the dry ingredients into a medium sized bowl. Whisk together and set aside.
    2. In a large bowl, cream the shortening and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each egg.
    3. Add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture. Mix until most of the flour is incorporated. The dough will be really thick. About the same consistency as a soft cookie dough.
    4. Add the banana, pineapple, orange peel and vanilla. Mix until well blended.
    5. Pour the batter into the greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour or until an inserted skewer comes out clean (a few crumbs sticking to it is ok, but you don’t want it to be wet). Cool in the loaf pan for 5 – 10 minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack.

This quick bread is good on its own, especially the next day, but my favorite way to eat it is warm with a little bit of butter. Mmm mmm good. 😀

3 Comments

Filed under quick bread

3 responses to “Aloha Bread

  1. Haha! That looks like many of my recipe cards! This sounds delicious – a great twist on banana bread.

  2. I like the sound of a pineapple bread. Nice shot with the melting butter.

Leave a Reply

