CC: Grapefruit Cookie?

This month’s cookie for the carnival is Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookies.  I will admit that I let out an audible, “Ewww!” when I read that.  I’m not sure why.  I enjoy grapefruit and I love citrus flavored cookies.  I guess I just never thought to put grapefruit and cookie together in the same recipe.

Kate provided the link to the recipe on Martha’s website.  I clicked through and saw there was a video.  If there’s a demonstration of how to do something, I usually watch it to make sure I don’t flub.  I don’t know who Kristin Chenoweth is, but I was seriously amazed when I saw her in the video clip.  It looked like she was wearing 3 inch heels AND she was standing on an apple box.  AND she was still only about the same height as Martha.  So I googled her.  She is only 4’11.” 

Now lest you think I am making fun of her, I am not.  I am 4’11.”  I’ve just never seen an actress that short.  I thought, “Wow!  An actress shorter than 5 feet!  Cool!”  Then I thought, “Do I really look that short?”  Followed by, “Gee.  Martha must be tall.”  Anyway, power to the vertically challenged!  I’ve stood on many an apple box in my lifetime as well.  😀

Anywho, back to the cookies.  My oven was a bit hot and my dough too warm I think.  The cookies spread out almost paper thin and browned way too quickly.  The filling was also a little on the buttery and sweet side for me.  I think I would have liked it better if I had put some of the grapefruit zest in the filling.  Cream cheese in the filling sounds good too.  For some that might be too tangy, but I like tangy.  😉 Overall, they were an okay cookie, but not something I’d beat the doors down for.

    Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookies
    recipe courtesy of Martha
    PS This is a half recipe…for the full recipe follow the link
    For the cookies:
    grated zest of 1/2 a Ruby Red grapefruit– I used a regular CA grapefruit
    2 T freshly squeezed grapefruit juice
    1/2 c sugar
    1 c + 2 T flour
    1/2 t baking powder
    1/4 t salt
    4 T unsalted butter, softened
    1 large egg yolk
    For the cream filling:
    4 T unsalted butter, softened
    1 c powdered sugar, sifted
    1/2 T honey
    1 – 2 T freshly squeezed grapefruit juice’
    1. To make the cookies: In a small bowl, combine the zest with 1/2 T sugar. Set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
    2. In a large bowl, beat the butter and remaining sugar on med-hi speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Add the egg yolk and beat until combined. Beat in the zest/sugar mixture. Add the flour in two batches, alternating with the juice. Beat until combined.
    3. Turn dough out onto a piece of plastic wrap. Shape into a 1 inch thick disk, wrap and refrigerated until firm.
    4. Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. On a lightly floured surface, roll the disk out to 1/8 inch thickness. Using a lightly floured 2-inch round cookie cutter, cut out rounds and place 1 inch apart on prepared baking sheet. Bake, until edges are golden, about 18 – 20 minutes (I baked my cookies for about 12 minutes total- the second time around). Rotate the sheet halfway through to bake the cookies evenly. Transfer cookies to a cooling rack.
    5. To make the filling: Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in honey. Add the juice, a little bit at a time, until filling holds together and is smooth and creamy.
    6. To assemble: Spread filling on the flat side of half the cookies. Top with the remaining cookies, making sure that the flat sides face inward. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.
9 Comments

Filed under cookie carnival, cookies

9 responses to “CC: Grapefruit Cookie?

  1. Flat or not…I think your cookie looks tasty!

    I would not have thought to combine a cookie and grapefruit, either.

  2. Your cookies still look great, even on the flat side. 🙂

  3. I have to agree with you about the filling, not nearly tangy enough. I cut out the honey in the filling completely the second time I made the cookies, but it still wasn’t quite tangy enough. I think maybe using 1 tbsp of red and 1 tbsp yellow grapefruit juice might do it, though.

  4. Haha I love how everyone… yup everyone said Ewww…. grapefruit and cookies do not mix 🙂 However, I agree that they were ok. I actually like how crispy yours look. Sometimes a little crisp goes a long way. Oh and nice blog, btw.

  5. I bet the crispy would have been tasty. I like how yours turned out.

  6. Your cookies look yummy, but I agree that the recipe is just so-so.

  7. Yeah, agree.. I don’t think i will make this again. My cookies turned out to be a tab too hard .Yours look good thought.

  8. John Gunson

    Jusy Garland was 4′ 11″ tall, fyi.

  9. John Gunson

    Judy Garland, not Jusy….LOL

Leave a Reply

