Cocoa-Nana Muffins

Before I borrowed Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY from the library, I was looking over the reviews on Amazon. Some of the lower rated reviews had me laughing out loud. One person gave the book 3 stars because it is too heavy! 😆 She (or he) even goes as far as to weigh the book and makes sure you know she’s not a weakling either. Too comical. The poor reviews didn’t dissuade my interest and I requested it anyway.

However, after making the orange berry muffins I wasn’t quite sure I wanted to plop down a hunk of money to buy the book.  I was slightly disappointed in how they turned out.  I had bookmarked this recipe as well and decided to make it a few days ago when I discovered some overly ripe bananas on the counter.

Well, let me tell you. These little muffins have restored my faith in Dorie. They are delicious! They are dense, moist chocolatey bits of heaven. They have an almost brownie/cake-like consistency and have just a hint of banana flavor. I enjoyed them immensely with a tall glass of milk. Yum! Baking From My Home to Yours is back on the wish list. 😀

    Cocoa-Nana Muffins
    recipe from BFMHTY
    This recipe makes 24 muffins

    2 c flour
    1 c unsweetened cocoa powder
    1 1/2 t baking powder
    1/2 t salt
    1/4 t baking soda
    1/2 c unsalted butter, room temperature
    3/4 c sugar
    1/2 c light brown sugar, packed
    2 large eggs
    2 ripe bananas, mashed
    3/4 c buttermilk
    1/2 c chocolate chips– next time I would add a little bit more

    1. Preheat the oven to 350. Place paper liners in a muffin tin or grease the muffin tin.*
    2. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt and baking soda into a medium sized bowl. Whisk to combine.
    3. In a large bowl, beat the butter until softened. Add the sugars and beat for another 2 minutes, scraping down the sides as necessary. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating for a minute after each addition. With the mixer on low speed, add the mashed banana.
    4. Add the dry ingredients in 3 additions, mixing only until it disappears into the batter. Add the buttermilk and mix until incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips.
    5. Divide the batter evenly among the cups of the muffin tin. Bake for 18 – 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into one of the muffins comes out clean.

    *The recipe in Dorie’s book is called Cocoa-Nana Bread and I would put in the directions to cook it as a loaf rather than muffins, but I’m too lazy.

These were really good hot out of the oven, but were still pretty good a few days later. These muffins are not for the faint of heart- they are intensely chocolatey. Definitely eat these with lots of milk.

1 Comment

Filed under muffins

One response to “Cocoa-Nana Muffins

  1. It’s a great cookbook! I’ve loved almost everything I’ve made out of it. I always like to look at the lower ratings to see if they are real, valid reasons for not liking something. More often than not, it’s something silly like the weight of the book. Sometimes I get a good laugh at what people base a review on!

Leave a Reply

