Fried Rice- Thai Style

 

I really enjoyed the flavors in this fried rice.  Lime, cilantro, chili sauce.  Yum!  Even my picky husband went back for seconds.  My knife skills must be improving because I was able to prep and cook this up a little faster than usual.

    Thai-Style Chicken Fried Rice
    adapted from this recipe from Good Things Catered

    3 c cooked rice, day old rice preferably
    1 large chicken breast, cut into strips
    salt & pepper to taste
    2 T canola oil
    1 T sesame oil
    1 T freshly grated ginger
    3 garlic cloves, minced
    1 green pepper, cut into matchsticks
    2 small carrots, peeled and cut on the diagonal
    1 egg
    3 medium tomatoes, diced
    1/2 c steamed peas
    3 T low sodium soy sauce
    1 t fish sauce
    juice of 1 lime
    1 T sriracha
    3 green onions (white & light green part only), sliced
    1 T fresh minced cilantro
    lime wedges for garnish, optional

    1. Whisk the soy sauce, fish sauce, lime juice and sriracha together in a small bowl. Set aside.
    2. Heat oil in a large wok over medium high heat. Add garlic and ginger, stirring constantly until golden brown. Remove with a slotted spoon and set aside.
    3. Add the chicken and season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring constantly, until the chicken is mostly cooked through, about 5 minutes. Add the peppers and carrots and cook until the vegetables are crisp tender and the chicken is cooked through. Remove the chicken and veggies and set aside.
    4. Crack the egg into the pan and cook, stirring constantly until they start to firm up, about 20 – 30 seconds. Add the rice, ginger mixture, tomatoes, peas, soy sauce mixture, chicken and veggies. Stir to combine. I like my fried rice a little on the crunchy side, so I let it cook for an additional 3 – 4 minutes.
    5. Remove from the heat and fold in the cilantro and green onion. Serve with lime wedges if desired.

This made enough for 2 meals plus leftovers for lunches. The original recipe uses more rice and chicken. I didn’t think we would be able to eat all of it so I changed some of the ingredient amounts.

2 Comments

Filed under Asian, chicken, rice & beans

2 responses to “Fried Rice- Thai Style

  1. CB

    Oh man. I should not come to your blog when I am hungry. You said all the magic words with this one – fried, rice, thai! Yum! I starred this recipe to try soon.
    /Clara

  2. I’ve never made fried rice before – but when I do, this is the version I want to make!

Leave a Reply

