Let him eat cupcakes!

My baby’s turning 1 on Sunday! I can’t believe it. Time has flown by way too fast. He’ll be turning 18 and moving out before I know it. 😥 Anyway, I’ll save the boohoo’ing for later.

I’ve wanted to make him cupcakes for his birthday, but when we found out he had allergies to milk, eggs and wheat I was a bit disappointed. I knew I would figure out how to make a cupcake sans those ingredients. Would it really taste good though? And we all know taste is the most important. 😉

I heard many good things about Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World so I decided to purchase it and give it a go. That took care of the whole milk and egg issue. A trip to the grocery store for some gluten free flour took care of the wheat. As a side note, the Whole Foods here has a sad baking section. No gluten free flour. What the heck?! I had to go to my regular everyday grocery store for gluten free flour. Go figure. Not impressed with Whole Foods.

I used the AP Gluten Free flour mix from Bob’s Red Mill which is a mixture of garbonzo bean, tapioca starch, fava bean and a couple other things.  The cupcake was slightly “beany” in flavor and more dense like a muffin.  Next time I think I’ll add a little less flour and more cornstarch.  The frosting was AMAZING!  Delicious!  I kept snitching little tastes out of the bowl every now and then.  It is a little bit greasy so I may cut a little bit of the shortening and see how that goes.  Overall, these cupcakes get two thumbs up.  🙂 Makua loved them!

VCTOTW does have a recipe for gluten free cupcakes, but all those different flours was a bit intimidating for me.  As I become more familiar with gluten free baking, maybe I’ll try my hand at making my own GF flour mix.

    For the cupcakes:
    1/2 c plain soy milk
    1/2 t apple cider vinegar
    1/2 c + 2 T gluten free flour
    1/4 t xanthum gum
    1 T cornstarch
    heaping 1/4 t baking powder
    1/4 t baking soda
    pinch of salt
    4 T margarine– I used Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks
    1/3 c sugar
    1 1/4 t vanilla
    For the buttercream:

    4 T margarine– used the vegan buttery sticks here too
    4 T nonhydrogenated shortening
    1 1/2 – 2 c powdered sugar, sifted
    3/4 t vanilla
    1 – 2 T plain soy milk
    1.To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 350. Line the muffin tin with liners.
    2. Stir the soy milk and vinegar together and set aside. In a small bowl, whisk the flour, xanthum gum, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.
    3. In a separate larger bowl, cream the margarine and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in the vanilla. Alternate beating in the soy milk and flour mixture, scraping the bowl as needed.
    4. Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 full. Bake for 18 – 20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack before frosting.
    5.To make the frosting, beat the margarine and shortening together until well combine and fluffy. Add the sugar and beat for about 3 more minutes. Add the vanilla and soy milk (start with 1 T) and beat until light and fluffy, adding more soy milk or powdered sugar for the right consistency.

5 Comments

Filed under cupcakes

5 responses to “Let him eat cupcakes!

  1. I’ve made vegan cupcakes before, but never vegan and gluten free! You are an amazing mommy!

  2. Pingback: PF: Happy Birthday!! « Our Ohana

  3. Megan

    WOW! That is really impressive. I have a friend here that her boy has similar allergies and she is always struggling to find things that he can eat. I will have to tell her about those cupcakes and it you have some websites, email them to me! Thanks

  4. Janet Fabricius

    We will have to check into that book for Justin and Krystal. We have been making cupcakes and cakes for them with a recipe we got from a neighbor, and substitute rice flour instead of wheat flour. It’s called Wacky Cake, did I include that recipe in the email? I hope you got my email from a few weeks ago, let me know if it didn’t come through and I’ll resend it.

  5. Totally love the book! Happy first birthday to your baby tomorrow! Hope you have a fun day!

Leave a Reply

