Chicken Tikka

I like to try new things.  Routine rather bores me which is just the opposite of my husband.  He likes to find something he’s comfortable with and settles in with it for the long haul.  As I’ve mentioned numerous times before, he is very picky, but over the years we’ve been married, he’s much better about trying new things once in a while. 

One thing I still have trouble with is getting him to try new restaurants.  If he had a choice, every time we eat out, we would go to Quizno’s.  The only way he will usually go to a new restaurants is if a friend suggests it or he goes with co-workers.  I’d been trying to get him to an Indian restaurant for forever without success until we decided to go out with some friends who suggested Bombay House in Salt Lake.  The food was really good I would highly recommend trying it.

I decided I wanted to try making some Indian food at home since we enjoyed it so much.  I decided chicken tikka sounded easy and I found this recipe on epicurious that had relatively good ratings.  The flavors were great, but I think I overcooked the chicken cause it was a little bit dry.  I’m excited to try different Indian dishes.

    1/2 t cumin seeds, toasted
    1/2 t coriander seeds, toasted
    1 c whole-milk yogurt
    2 garlic cloves, chopped
    1 1-inch piece of ginger, peeled and chopped
    1 T vegetable oil
    juice of 1 small lime
    1 t salt
    1/2 t garam masala
    1/4 t black pepper
    big pinch of red pepper flake
    2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes
    1. Puree all ingredients except the chicken in a blender or food processor until spices are well ground.
    2. Place cubed chicken in a resealable plastic bag and pour the yogurt mixture over the chicken. Press all of the air out of the bag and seal. Squish the chicken around in the bag to make sure all of it gets coated with the yogurt. Marinate for at least 4 hours in the refrigerator.
    3. Soak wooden skewers in water for 30 minutes or use metal skewers. Preheat your grill to medium-hi heat (or you can use your broiler). Grill or broil for about 4 – 6 minutes on each side until just cooked through. Remove from skewers and serve warm or at room temperature.
    *This is a half recipe give or take. Click through the link above for the full recipe which makes approximately 10 servings.
2 Comments

Filed under chicken, Indian

2 responses to “Chicken Tikka

  1. I like trying different foods all the time. In fact I have been so busy trying new things over the last few years that I have not had much of a chance to go back and make any of the things that I really enjoyed.

  2. Pingback: Cous Cous w/ Tomato & Cucumber « Simple Food

Leave a Reply

