Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

This is my husband’s favorite way to eat fish. And why not? You can’t go wrong with cheese! 🙂 I grew up in a home where we ate fish a lot, but Chris wasn’t too keen on it. Tilapia is very mild tasting and is a good choice when you’re trying to get a fish-hater to eat fish.

    Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

    2 tilapia fillets
    olive oil or melted butter
    salt & pepper
    1/3 – 1/2 c grated parmesan cheese
    1/4 c bread crumbs
    2 T fresh chopped parsley

    1. Preheat your oven to 375. Cover a cookie sheet with foil (I just do this to make clean-up easier) and coat the foil with cooking spray. Lay the fillets on the prepared cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil or melted butter and season with salt and pepper. Go easy on the salt since the cheese itself is salty.
    2. In a small bowl, combine the cheese, bread crumbs and parsley. Sprinkle the cheese mixture evenly over the fillets and press lightly to make sure it sticks.
    3. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until fish flakes with a fork. Cooking times will vary depending on the size and thickness of the fillets.

I typically use Italian bread crumbs since they’re already seasoned, but sometimes I’ll use panko which produces a lighter crust if that makes sense. If I use panko, I add whatever dried seasonings I feel like.

2 Comments

Filed under seafood

2 responses to “Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

  1. I never though about parmesan crusted fish but it sounds really good!

  2. That sounds really good! I keep hearing about people making this and I guess that I just have to try it now. Maybe next week…

Leave a Reply

