Hawaiian Style Pork Burgers

I enjoy grilling burgers in the summer. I made these a few weeks ago when summer was still kinda hangin’ around, but you could tell fall was right behind.

I’ve made tons of burgers from ground beef and ground chicken, but never a pork burger. I made a terriyaki BBQ sauce to go over the burgers. These were pretty tasty. Can’t wait for next summer so I can make them again. (Okay- that may be stretching it a bit. Winter is my favorite season, but grilling makes summer bearable for me.)

    1 lb ground pork
    4 T panko
    2 T soy sauce
    2 garlic cloves, grated
    1 inch knob of fresh ginger, grated
    1/4 t pineapple juice
    salt & pepper
    4 pineapple slices
    hamburger buns*
    1. Gently mix the first 7 ingredients together. Form into 4 patties. Grill over medium heat about 3 – 5 minutes on each side.
    2. The last minute or so of grilling, add the pineapple slices to the grill. Serve burgers on buns and top with a slice of pineapple.

    I thought the burgers would be dry if I didn’t make a sauce (and they were). I don’t exactly recall amounts but I mixed ketchup, soy sauce, the rest of the pineapple juice from the can and some brown sugar in a small pot and reduced it on the stove. Don’t use too much soy sauce or it will be salty.

    *Rachel has a recipe for Hawaiian rolls on her blog. I just used regular hamburger buns and that worked for us. Someday when I figure out yeast, I’ll try the Hawaiian rolls.

2 Comments

Filed under pork, sandwiches & burgers

2 responses to “Hawaiian Style Pork Burgers

  1. I’ve never thought of doing pork burgers, either. They sound delicious!

  2. Now that is one tasty looking burger!

Leave a Reply

