Cottage Cheese Pufflets

I was flipping through BFMHTY to find one last recipe to make before I returned it to the library and for some reason these caught my eye. They seemed very simple to make. I had the ingredients on hand and they intrigued me. I wouldn’t really equate cottage cheese with a puffy pastry cookie.  I made these for curiosity’s sake.

I wasn’t expecting too much out of them, but these were a delicious surprise. As a result, I ate way too many. They were light and flaky. Not too sweet. Just plain yummy. Definitely making these again soon.

    Cottage Cheese Pufflets
    recipe courtesy of Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY *
    1 c unsalted butter, room temperature
    2 T sugar
    1/4 t salt
    8 oz cottage cheese
    1 t vanilla
    1 2/3 c flour
    1/4 c jam or fruit preserves
    powdered sugar for dusting
    1. Blend the butter, sugar and salt in a food processor until creamy. Add the cottage cheese and vanilla. Process another 2 minutes until the mixture is the consistency of whipped cream cheese. Add the flour and pulse until dough forms.
    2. Dump dough out onto a piece of plastic wrap. Shape into a rectangle, wrap and refrigerate at least 3 hours.
    3. Preheat oven to 400.** Roll dough to 1/8 inch thickness. Cut the dough into 2 x 2 inch squares (I used a circle cookie cutter because it was easier). Add a dab of jam to each square, slightly off center. Fold opposite corners together to form a triangle. Seal edges and poke a minute steam hole in the top.
    4. Bake on a parchment lined cookie sheet for 10-12 minutes. Cool on a wire rack and dust with powdered sugar once they’ve cooled a bit.
    *I copied this recipe in my wacky abbreviations before returning the book to the library because I waited till the last minute to make these. So the directions might not be exact. Okay. The directions are not exact, but hopefully you get the gist.
    **I found that Dorie’s temperatures are always a little high for me. Maybe my oven is screwed up, but I baked mine at 375.

I made a half recipe of these and they made about 2 dozen, delicious half moon cookies.

6 Comments

Filed under cookies

6 responses to “Cottage Cheese Pufflets

  1. I don’t think I even remember seeing this recipe in that book, and I’ve looked through it hundreds of times! I’m glad that you liked them, because I think I would have been afraid to make them before!

  2. What an interesting way to use cottage cheese. They look good!

  3. I did see these the other day when I was looking for recipes – they look really good! For some reason most seem to be having a lot of trouble with heat and chilling. I will probably try them when the weather cools off some more here (and I hopefully have more energy). Yours look gorgeous!

  4. Pingback: Monthly dinner with Murray « The Miller Family Blog

  5. Johnd401

    I got what you mean, regards for putting up.Woh I am delighted to find this website through google. You must pray that the way be long, full of adventures and experiences. by Constantine Peter Cavafy. efbaedkgkdge

  6. Pingback: Túrós vajas puffancsok mogyorós csokival töltve | Blogod.hu

Leave a Reply

