Mr. John’s Meatloaf Goes to Italy

Ivy of Little Ivy Cakes is hosting a Fall Into Winter recipe roundup.  Fall and winter are my favorite seasons of the year so I knew I wanted to participate. 

I was mulling over the possibilities, trying to decide exactly what I wanted to make.  Something sweet?  Something savory?  What do I love about fall and winter food?  Then the lightbulb came on.  I love comfort foods.  Steamy bowls of chowder; cheesy casseroles bubbly and hot right out of the oven; slices of meat next to piles of billowy, buttery mashed potatoes.  Mmm mmm good.  When I saw this meatloaf recipe in the Everyday Food magazine, I decided to use it for my entry.  Now don’t run away because I said meatloaf.  I’m not a huge fan of meatloaf, but this honestly is a good recipe.  At least we liked it.

Yeah I know…meatloaf is not a photogenic food, but don’t hold it against this recipe.

I changed the recipe a bit because we had some sweet Italian sausage in the freezer, but no chorizo and I’m trying not to buy extra food if I can use what we already have.  Someday, I would like to try the recipe as it was written because it sounds wonderfully spicy and just plain delicious.

    Mr. John’s Meatloaf (Italian Style)
    adapted from this recipe

    1 lb ground beef
    1/2 lb ground pork
    2 eggs, lightly beaten
    1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
    3/4 c Italian seasoned bread crumbs
    1/3 c grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
    1/3 c half and half
    1/4 c finely chopped parsley
    1 t salt
    ground pepper to taste
    1 t dried oregano
    1 t dried thyme
    1/4 t red pepper flakes
    8 oz sweet Italian sausage
    1/2 c marinara, homemade or store bought

    1. Preheat the oven to 350. Line a cookie sheet with foil and set aside. In a large bowl, combine the beef, pork, eggs, onion, bread crumbs, cheese, half and half, parsley and seasonings. Gently mix to combine.
    2. Place half of the meat mixture on the foil-lined cookie sheet. Form into a 9 x 4 inch loaf. Make a channel in the middle of the loaf with the side of your hand. Fill the channel with the sausage. Alternately, you could buy links, remove the casing and just place the sausage in the middle of the loaf. Cover with the rest of the meat mixture, enclosing the sausage in the middle.
    3. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove the meatloaf from the oven and spoon the marinara over the top. Continue to bake another 30 minutes or until the internal temperature is 160 F. Let rest 15 minutes before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under beef, blog event, Italian, pork

One response to “Mr. John’s Meatloaf Goes to Italy

  1. This meatloaf does sound tasty. The sausage in the middle would add a lot of flavour.

Leave a Reply

