Chicken Piccata

I love chicken piccata.  In fact, it’s my fall back item when we go somewhere Italian and nothing on the menu sounds good.  I’d never made it at home before I saw this recipe.  It was so easy- now I can make it when I crave it.

    Chicken Piccata
    recipe courtesy of Eating Well

    6 oz whole-wheat angel hair– I used regular spaghetti
    1/3 c flour, divided
    2 c chicken broth
    1/4 t salt
    4 chicken cutlets– I made my own by pounding 2 chicken breasts and cutting them in half
    3 t olive oil, divided
    1 10-oz package mushrooms, sliced
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    1/2 c white wine– I just used more chicken broth
    2 T lemon juice
    1/4 c chopped fresh parsley
    2 T capers, rinsed
    2 t butter

    1. Cook the pasta according to package directions.
    2. Meanwhile, measure the flour into a shallow dish. Remove 5 t of the flour and whisk together with the broth in a small bowl. Set aside. Season the chicken with salt & pepper and dredge both sides in the flour. Heat 2 t of oil (I’ll admit I used more) in a large, nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the chicken and cook until browned and no longer pink in the middle, about 2 – 3 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate and keep warm.
    3. Heat the remaining teaspoon of oil in the pan over med-hi heat. Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring, until they release their juices and begin to brown. Transfer to a plat. Add the garlic and wine to the pan and cook until reduced by half. Stir in the reserved broth-flour mixture, lemon juice and the salt.  Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring, until the sauce is thickened.
    4. Stir in the parsley, capers, butter and reserved mushrooms. Measure out 1/2 c of the mushroom sauce. Toss the pasta in the pan with the remaining sauce. Serve the pasta topped with the chicken and reserved sauce.

2 Comments

Filed under chicken, Italian, pasta

2 responses to “Chicken Piccata

  1. This sounds so much better than the left over soup I’m having tonight…

  2. I just made chicken piccata as well. It is such a quick and tasty meal!

Leave a Reply

