Tilapia w/ Arugula, Capers & Tomatoes

I think this is the fastest dinner I’ve ever made- excluding grilled cheese & canned soup. 😛 I had this on the table a smidge less than 10 minutes after I started. Gotta love those quick dinners on busy days.

matotilapia-003-small

    Tilapia w/ Arugula, Capers & Tomatoes
    recipe courtesy of Everyday Food Magazine
    1/2 c cherry tomatoes, halved– I used 3 Roma tomatoes, diced
    1/4 t red-pepper flakes
    2 tilapia fillets
    coarse salt & freshly ground pepper
    3 c arugula
    2 T butter
    2 T fresh lemon juice
    1 T capers, rinsed and drained
    1. In a medium nonstick skillet, bring 1/2 c water to a boil. Add tomatoes and red-pepper flakes. Top with tilapia and season with salt and pepper. Cover and cook for about 3 minutes. Add arugula. Cover and cook until tilapia flakes with a fork. Transfer the fish and veggies to a plate with a slotted spoon.
    2. Off heat, add the butter, lemon juice and capers to the liquid left in the skillet. Swirl until butter has melted. Season with salt & pepper. Serve tilapia over arugula and tomatoes; drizzle with sauce.

This was listed under the “Cooking For One” feature in the magazine. I doubled everything except for the arugula and capers. In hindsight, I think I should have just left the sauce ingredients as they were listed in the recipe. As you can see in the photo, the “sauce” ended up being more like a soup. I also should have doubled the arugula. It seemed like a lot, but it wilts down like crazy. It was still very good. I didn’t serve this with any type of starch which is unusual for me. Next time I would serve this with some angel hair or some other rice, pasta, etc.

2 Comments

Filed under seafood

2 responses to “Tilapia w/ Arugula, Capers & Tomatoes

  1. I like the caper, lemon and butter combo with fish!

  2. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring
    a blog article or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

