Wedding Cupcakes

One major reason I didn’t immediately return to blogging after the holidays was my sister’s wedding.  She asked me to make the cupcakes for her reception and I was happy to oblige.  I will openly admit it caused me a bit of anxiety since I’ve never taken on such a monumental task, but I wrote numerous lists and even a schedule to make myself feel better.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and most everyone enjoyed the cupcakes (although I don’t know that people would have told me they stunk).

In preparation, I read over posts from Cupcake Project and emailed Stef with questions.  She was very helpful and saved me some hairpulling.

mcupcakes-010-small

Sorry about the blurry photo, but this one looks better than the one I took with the flash. The cake on top was made by Kneaders, a local bakery chain.

I made 3 different flavors and I will post the recipes separately so this doesn’t end up being the post that never ends.  I also made the cupcake tower.  I wanted to make one that looked like Stef’s, but I don’t have the tools or space/place to make something like that.  I used the tutorial from Cake Journal to make the tower.  My husband had the great idea to stick pins (I used corsage pins I bought at Michaels) through the cake boards and into the styrofoam cake dummies to make the cupcake tower more secure.  For not being the crafty type, I think I did a pretty good job.

mcupcakes-015-small

Thankfully, things went pretty smoothly thanks to the use of my friend’s parents’ kitchen and my mother-in-law.  I was able to make most of the cupcakes using 2 KA mixers and 2 ovens at the same  time without my 1 year old underfoot (thanks Mary Jean!).  The 2 mixers and 2 ovens really helped cut down on time.  Here are a few things I would do differently next time, if I’m ever given the opportunity:

  • Recruit someone to wash dishes for me and just help out in general.  If I didn’t have to wash all the dishes, I would have been done even sooner.  And my hands would have thanked me.
  • No hand frosting!  I frosted 100+ cupcakes by hand.  With a butter knife.  It took me about an hour or so.  Compare that with the other frosted cupcakes.  I piped the buttercream onto those ones.  Took me maybe 5 or 10 minutes.  Later I thought to myself, why didn’t I just cut the tip off a disposable piping bag and squeeze the frosting on that way.  Lesson learned. 😛
  • Trust your gut.  I used 3 different baking cups- 1 kind per flavor.  To make a long story short,  the striped baking papers fell off some of the cupcakes.  I kind of figured out what was causing this, so I decided to use them anyway- against my better judgment.  Despite my efforts, I had cupcakes with papers peeling so I ended up tying ribbon around the cupcakes in an attempt to make it look like the papers weren’t falling off.  That was time consuming and made me really ornery.

Overall, I would say it was a good experience. Fun even.  Check back for the recipes which I will hopefully have posted within the next few days.

5 Comments

Filed under cupcakes, ramble

5 responses to “Wedding Cupcakes

  1. CB

    What an awesome sister!? I bet that you making her wedding cupcakes made the moment that much more special. I am totally a list person too. Love the tips at the end. I’ll have to star to read later this summer when I make my friend’s bridal shower cupcakes. Not quite as stressful as the actual wedding but I am still making 100 cupcakes. Who is crazy enough to have 100+ people at bridal shower?? She is! haha.
    Clara @ iheartcuppycakes!

  2. And your grateful sister THANKS YOU! I still have your thank you note and gift in my car. I need to run it by you. Too bad you’re not a hop, skip, & a jump away. Ty & I will make it up soon 🙂

  3. kamaile

    Clara- That will be some bridal shower. Sounds like a party to me! 🙂 Hope all goes well. You’re a cupcake expert so I’m sure it will.

  4. It looks great. Your sister is so lucky to have you. I find it so much more personal than ordering from a bakery. Nice job!

  5. Congrats! It looks beautiful! You did such a great job!!! I can’t believe you did everything yourself. I did not do my own dish washing. I had people who helped. It’s funny, hand frosting is actually faster for me than piping and my hand gets so tired when I do lots of piping.

    You must be so happy that’s it’s all done!

Leave a Reply

