Vanilla Cheesecake Cupcakes

These were my most favorite of the 3 and  also happen to be one of my all-time favorite cupcakes.  I love cheesecake.  I love cupcakes.  These are an obvious given when it comes to my favorites.

mcupcakes-014-small

I used Amy Sedaris’ vanilla cupcake recipe for these cupcakes as well. The filling and crunch topping came from Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans.

    Vanilla Cheesecake Cupcakes
    makes 30 – 36 cupcakes
    For the topping:
    1/2 c flour
    1/3 c packed light brown sugar
    1/8 t salt
    2 T unsalted butter, melted
    For the filling:
    8 oz cream cheese, at room temp
    1/4 c sugar
    1 egg, at room temp
    1 t finely grated lemon zest
    1 T lemon juice
    1/2 t vanilla
    2 1/2 c flour
    2 1/2 t baking powder
    1/2 t salt
    1 1/2 sticks (3/4 c) unsalted butter at room temp
    1 3/4 c sugar– I only used 1 1/3 c sugar
    2 eggs
    2 t vanilla
    1 1/4 c milk
    1. Make the topping first.  Stir the flour, brown sugar and salt together in a medium sized bowl.  Add the melted butter and stir until crumbs form.  Set aside.
    2. Make the filling next.  Cream the sugar and cream cheese together until smooth.  Beat in the egg until blended.  Add the lemon zest, lemon juice and vanilla, mixing until blended.  Set aside.
    3. To make the cupcakes, combine the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add the vanilla. Alternately add the dry ingredients and the milk, beating until well mixed.
    4. Spoon 2 heaping tablespoons of batter into the baking cups. Spoon about 1 – 2  tablespoons of cream cheese filling over the batter.  Sprinkle the tops with the crumb mixture.  Bake at 350 for 18 – 20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

These are best eaten the same day you make them, but they still taste okay the next few days when stored in an airtight container.

6 Comments

Filed under cupcakes

6 responses to “Vanilla Cheesecake Cupcakes

  1. Another great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love Amy Sedaris and her cupcakes! The filling sounds amazing. Thank you for sharing the recipe! 🙂

  3. I like that combo of cheese cake and cupcakes too. I guess I was in the dark about Amy Sedaris’s cupcakes. I love when she’s on David Letterman, she’s so funny!

  4. These look and sound amazing!

  5. Ok, so I made these for the first time this last weekend. I don’t know if I misinterpreted 2 heaping tablespoons of cupcake batter, but my cupcakes overflowed like bad. So… I’d just say 2 tablespoons of cupcake batter. They tasted oh-so-good though!

  6. kamaile

    Are the cups in your muffin tin small? Did you use an actual tablespoon? Cause that’s what I used- like the measuring spoon.

Leave a Reply

