Apple Upside Down Cake

I love pineapple upside down cake.  The slightly tart, brown sugary goodness is mmm mmm good!  I especially love the corner pieces where the brown sugar is a little chewy.  I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.  And I just finished eating dinner. /sigh

I was thumbing through my giant box of recipes and found this recipe for upside down cake with a twist.  I’m not sure where I got it from as there is no reference on the card and I hadn’t ever eaten it before.  It sounded delicious though and the perfect match to some vanilla bean ice cream. 

This is a cheater recipe.  Cheater as in you use a cake mix.  I loved it so much that I think I made it 3 times in a 2 week period.  It was just as good with whipped cream as it was a la mode.

applecake-005-small

    Apple Upside Down Cake
    1/2 c butter
    1/4 c whipping cream
    1 c packed brown sugar
    1/2 c chopped pecans– I ommitted these
    2 large cooking apples, sliced thin– I used Golden Delicious
    1 box yellow cake mix
    1 1/4 c water
    1/3 c vegetable oil
    3 eggs
    1/4 t apple pie spice– I used 1/2 t cinnamon instead
    1.  Preheat oven to 350.  Cook butter, cream and brown sugar over low heat, stirring occasionally, just until butter is melted.  Pour into a 9 x 13 pan.  Top with nuts and apples.  Set aside.
    2.  In a large mixing bowl, mix the remaining ingredients until well combined.  Carefully spoon batter over the apples.  Bake 40 – 45 minutes.
    3.  Cool in the pan for 10 minutes.  Turn the pan over onto a platter.  Let the pan remain over the cake a minute or so to let the caramel topping drizzle over the cake.  Remove the pan.  Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.
3 Comments

Filed under desserts

3 responses to “Apple Upside Down Cake

  1. This sounds delicious – and so easy!!

  2. Apple upside down cake sounds really good!

  3. You know, I have a box of cake mix in my pantry and have no idea why I bought it. Thanks to you I now have a recipe for it! Yippee!

Leave a Reply

