Balsamic Wings

This recipe sounded interesting to me. I love balsamic vinegar and tried a reduction once. It didn’t turn out too well. The reviews for the recipe were mostly positive though so I decided to give balsamic reductions another chance.

balsamicwings-005-small

I am so glad I did! These wings were delicious! My wing hater husband even liked them AND commented that he liked them as he piled a few more onto his plate. Next time I’m going to marinade the wings before cooking to give them even more flavor.

    Balsamic Wings
    adapted from this recipe

    2 c water
    1 c balsamic vinegar
    2/3 c low sodium soy sauce
    1/4 c sugar
    2 garlic cloves, smashed
    2 small red chili pepper, slit open
    2 lbs of chicken wings

    1. Line a cookie sheet with foil. Spray the foil with cooking spray and set the cookie sheet aside.
    2. Place the first 6 ingredients in a large pot over high heat, stirring until the sugar is dissolved. Add the chicken wings and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce to a simmer and cook the wings for about 10 – 15 minutes. Preheat the broiler.
    3. Remove the wings from the pot and place on a foil lined cookie sheet. Place the cookie sheet about 6 inches from the broiler. Broil the wings for about 5 – 7 minutes or until the skin looks nice and crispy. Turn the wings over with tongs and broil for another few minutes.
    4. If desired, return the heat to high and reduce the sauce in the pot until it reaches a syrupy consistency. This took me an additional 10 – 15 minutes after I removed the wings.
    5. Serve the wings with rice and the balsamic reduction.

As I mentioned before, next time I’m going to use half the sauce to marinade the wings before broiling them instead of boiling them in the sauce. Hopefully it turns out as good, if not better. I’ll reduce thee other half of the sauce mixture to drizzle over the wings and rice before I gobble them up. 🙂 I also thought the sauce could have used more heat, so next time I’ll add a couple more chilis.

Leave a comment

Filed under Asian, chicken

Leave a Reply

