Salmon Wellington

slmnwellington-002-small

I love chicken wellington and when I saw a recipe for salmon wellington, I instantly bookmarked it. The recipe wasn’t really precise which was fine with me. I just used it as a guideline. This was a very quick, simple and tasty dinner. I served it with baked potatoes and roasted asparagus. Mmm mmm good! 😀

    3 – 4 oz cream cheese, softened
    1 – 2 t lemon pepper
    1 10 oz box of frozen spinach, thawed
    2 large boneless, skinless salmon fillets (about 6 – 8 oz I’m guessing)
    1 sheet of puff pastry
    1. If using frozen puff pastry, follow the directions on the box for thawing and rolling out.  Cut the sheet in half (one piece of pastry per fillet). 
    2.  In a small bowl, mix the cream cheese and lemon pepper together.  Squeeze all of the excess water out of the thawed spinach. 
    3.  Place a salmon fillet on top of one of the pieces of puff pastry.  Cover the fillet with half of the spinach.   Spoon half of the cream cheese onto the spinach, spreading it so that you can’t see the spinach. Fold the corners of the pastry together to make a packet around the salmon. Cut a few slits in the top of the puff pastry.
    4. Repeat step 3 for the second piece of salmon.
    5. Chill the packets in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. I cheated and put it in the freezer for about 10 – 15 minutes.
    6. Heat the oven to 375. Bake the salmon wellington on a foil lined baking sheet for about 20 -25 minutes or until the puff pastry is a nice golden color. Serve hot.

I must have bought really large salmon fillets because this made enough for leftovers the next night. The pastries were ginormous! Next time I’ll either get smaller fillets or cut the big ones in half. I think I would also add some green onions or garlic to the cream cheese mixture.

6 Comments

Filed under seafood

6 responses to “Salmon Wellington

  1. Ivy

    I have never heard of this dish. It looks really good. Lately, I have been searching for more different recipes for salmon. This one’s perfect besides it’s failing grade in being healthy. Haha. 🙂

  2. Stacy

    Yum! We love salmon, but sometimes I am bored with grilling or pan-frying. This looks great! Thanks for sharing. Stacy

  3. kamaile

    😆 yah..I wouldn’t really rate this as healthy, but it tasted good. 🙂

  4. What is in the Salmon Wellington that makes it unhealthy???

  5. kamaile

    well..the puff pastry probably isn’t the healthiest. And then there’s that ginormous glob of cream cheese. Although most of it is centered in the middle. I should have spread it out a bit more. You could certainly cut the cream cheese down if you want.

  6. Salmon wellington is a great idea! It looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

