Chicken Bellagio a la Kamaile

I have been terribly, horribly bad at updating my food blog.  As my son gets older, he requires more attention.  Sometimes I wish we had another kid so they could entertain each other, but I love my little guy and would play cars and draw pictures with him over baking or cooking any day (well, most days 😉 ).

Anyway, a few months ago, one of my friends took me out to lunch and I decided on The Cheesecake Factory.  Some people hate their food and their cheesecakes, but I for one, love the lemon raspberry cheesecake.  Mmmmm.  And I like their food for the most part. 

On their new selections menu, a chicken dish caught my eye- Chicken Bellagio.  I don’t remember exactly how it’s described on the menu, but the gist is crisp, breaded chicken topped with prosciutto and arugula and laid over basil pasta and drizzled (heavily) with parmesan cream sauce.  I’m not sure why it’s called Chicken Bellagio, but I can tell you that I loved every bite.  I loved it so much that I thought about it for the next few days, hoping my husband would want to brave the insane wait (1 1/2 – 2 hours! on weekends) so I could eat it again.  Then I decided, what the hey, I’ll try making it myself.

I will say that my attempt wasn’t a bad one.  In fact, I think I like my version better.  It was a little bit lighter.  I guess you could say it’s half Chicken Bellagio, half something else.  I decided to ditch the basil pasta and parmesan sauce and replaced it with garlicy, lemony risotto and a lemon cream sauce.  Oh so tasty.

chickenbellagio-001-small

I used the easy, no-stir method to make the risotto. And while I was skeptical at first, it totally worked! I did have to add more liquid at the end and stir that in to make it creamier, but that beats standing and stirring for 20+ minutes. I’m also horrible about figuring recipes because I don’t really measure. I just throw a bunch of stuff together until it tastes good. So just a warning to use this as a very general guideline. If something sounds amiss, do it your way.

    Chicken Bellagio a la Kamaile
    makes 4 servings
    For the chicken:
    2 large chicken breasts
    1/2 c flour
    salt & pepper
    1 egg, lightly beaten
    1 c panko
    2 T olive oil
    8 thin slices of prosciutto (not paper thin though)
    5 oz arugula, washed and dried
    For the risotto:
    3 – 4 cloves garlic, minced
    1 T butter
    2/3 c uncooked arborio rice
    zest and juice of 1 lemon
    2 c chicken broth (+ an extra 1/4 c if necessary)
    1/4 – 1/3 c grated Parmesan cheese
    salt & pepper
    For the lemon cream sauce:
    1 t butter
    1 garlic clove, minced
    2 – 3 T lemon juice
    1/3 – 1/2 c cream
    2 T chopped parsley
    1. To make the chicken, place the chicken breasts between two pieces of plastic wrap and pound them to an even thickness (about 1/2 – 3/4 inch or 2 cm thick). Cut each breast in half so that you have 4 equal portions.
    2. Measure the flour into a plate or pie pan and season with salt & pepper. Add the egg to another plate and the panko to a third plate.
    3. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Dip the chicken into the flour and shake off the excess. Dip the floured pieces into the egg and then the panko, pressing and flipping so that the panko sticks on both sides. Place the chicken in the skillet and brown until cooked through, about 3 – 5 minutes per side. Drain the chicken on a paper towel lined plate.
    4. To make the risotto, melt the butter in a large saucepan (that has a lid) over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant. Add the rice and cook for a few minutes, stirring constantly so the rice gets coated with the butter and garlic. Stir in the lemon juice and zest and cook for another minute.  Slowly add the 2 c of chicken broth.  Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 20 minutes.
    5. Remove the saucepan from the heat and stir. Add more liquid if needed to make the rice creamier. Return the cover to the pan and let sit for about 5 minutes. Stir in the parmesan cheese and season with salt & pepper to taste.
    6. To make the lemon cream sauce, melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium low heat.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add the lemon juice and then slowly pour in the cream.  Start with 1/3 c and add more later  if you like.  Bring to a simmer and cook a few minutes until the sauce is thickened.  Stir in the parsley just before serving.
    7. To bring it all together, plate the chicken and risotto. Place 2 slices of prosciutto over each piece of chicken and top with a small bunch of arugula. Drizzle the lemon cream sauce over the chicken and arugula or serve it on the side if you like. I served it on the side because I wasn’t sure if my husband would like it as he’s not a lemon fan.

This isn’t a 30 minute meal, but it didn’t take me horribly long to make everything. I started the risotto first and made the chicken and lemon cream sauce while that cooked. /shrug Rachael Ray could probably do it in 30 minutes, but I guess I’m not that talented.

5 Comments

Filed under chicken, rice & beans

5 responses to “Chicken Bellagio a la Kamaile

  1. That looks so good. Right up my alley.

    (Blogging and being a mom don’t work together, do they? 🙂 )

  2. Rachel

    Yum! Thanks for the recipe – I LOVE that dish!

  3. Greg Parks

    The breading is made with cheese

    Boneless Chicken Breasts
    1 egg
    2 tbsp. milk
    1/4 c. grated Romano cheese
    1 tsp. garlic powder
    1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese
    1/4 c. butter or Olive Oil
    Wash chicken pieces and pat dry, set aside. Beat egg and milk in bowl. In another bowl, mix Romano cheese, garlic powder and Parmesan cheese. Place chicken first in egg mix, then in the cheese mixture. Melt butter/oil in skillet and sear chicken until brown on both sides, about 4-5 minutes.

  4. Pingback: Healthier Chicken Bellagio – for Curlysis | The Girl With The Red Shoes

Leave a Reply

