Fiery Chicken Cheeseburgers with Soothing Ranch Sauce

My favorite season is winter, but I enjoy the warmer temperatures of spring that allow us to finally eat outside. At least for a few weeks before summer hits us here in Utah. Spring is way too short here in my opinion- which is an odd comment coming from someone who moved to Utah from a two season climate. Anyway, moving on…I love to eat outside. Grilling and outdoor eating/dining go hand in hand. The warmer temperatures a few weeks ago gave me the opportunity to make these chicken burgers.

I cut this recipe out of the monthly magazine/advertisement flyer that one of our local grocery stores produces.  I love burgers and these sounded like an interesting variation.  The only thing I didn’t really like was the ranch sauce.  It just tasted like regular ranch to me.  I guess I was expecting something a little more spectacular.  Maybe the celery salt would have made it better, but I didn’t have any and didn’t feel like making a trip to the store just for that one ingredient.  I’ll have to play around with the sauce next time to see if I can make up something better.

chknburger-001-small

Because my husband strongly dislikes spicy food, I don’t know that the burgers I made could be described as “fiery.”  More like smoldering. 😛  Despite my efforts to tone down the spice in the burger, he still said it was too spicy and that it was burning his lips.  I, on the other hand, could barely detect any heat.  Next time, I’ll just make his burgers plain and make mine as spicy as I like.

    Fiery Chicken Cheeseburgers with Soothing Ranch Sauce
    recipe courtesy of Harmons
    serves 4
    For the ranch sauce:
    1/4 c sour cream
    2 T mayonnaise
    1/8 t celery salt
    1/4 c ranch
    1/2 t dried parsley
    For the burgers:
    1 lb ground chicken
    1 T jalapeno, minced
    1 egg, lightly beaten
    2 T hot sauce- I used 1/2 T sriracha
    1/4 c minced onion- I used 2 green onions
    1/4 c dried bread crumbs
    1 clove garlic, minced
    salt & pepper
    For serving:
    hamburger buns
    lettuce
    tomatoes
    Monterey Jack cheese
    1. Stir the sauce ingredients together and chill until ready to serve.
    2. Combine the all of the burger ingredients together in a medium sized bowl and mix well. Shape into 4 patties.
    3. Cook the patties over a hot grill for 8 – 10 minutes, turning once. Top the burgers with the cheese the last minute of cooking.
    4. Serve the burgers on buns with lettuce, tomatoes and the ranch sauce.
3 Comments

Filed under chicken, grill, sandwiches & burgers

3 responses to “Fiery Chicken Cheeseburgers with Soothing Ranch Sauce

  1. My favorite season is Fall. Especially I love going apple picking. Your meal look really good.

  2. I would probably have to say that for their own reasons, I like all the seasons (didn’t mean to rhyme, but what can you do?). Sadly, Winter is probably my least favorite. I am just not a fan of the cold. I do like watching the snow though and enjoying the Winter holidays, so, who knows.

    I think that chicken burger sounds really yummy!

  3. Those chicken burgers look really tasty!

Leave a Reply

