Muffins for Everyone!

swpotatomuffin 001 (Small)

I haven’t met very many wheat free baked goods that I’m crazy about. In fact, I don’t think I’ve met any. Until I made these muffins that is. These were so good, you couldn’t tell they were made with rice flour. Or that they didn’t have any milk or eggs in them. Hence, the “Muffins for Everyone!” title. Wheat free, vegan friendly, food lover friendly, allergy friendly muffins. Unless you’re allergic to rice or sweet potatoes. Or if you don’t like sweet potatoes. Maybe I should re-title: Muffins for Almost Everyone!

Anyway, I am very proud of these muffins, even though it’s not an original recipe. If my son didn’t eat them, I would have eaten them. All of them. Every last one.

    Sweet Potato Muffins
    recipe adapted from Vegan w/ a Vengeance (The Best Pumpkin Muffins Ever)
    makes approximately 18 muffins
    1 1/4 c GF Flour Mix (see this post for the components)
    1 1/4 c sugar
    1 T baking powder
    1/4 t salt
    2 t ground cinnamon
    1/2 t ground ginger
    pinch each of nutmeg, ground allspice & ground cloves
    1/4 t xanthum gum
    1 c pureed sweet potato
    1/2 c hemp seed milk or other dairy substitute
    1/2 c vegetable oil
    2 T molasses
    1. Preheat the oven to 375. Line the muffin tins with paper liners or grease the muffin tin.
    2. Sift all of the dry ingredients together into a large bowl. After sifting, I like to whisk the dry ingredients together to make sure that everything is evenly distributed, but you can skip that step if you want.
    3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until incorporated.
    3. Fill the muffins cups about 2/3 full. Bake for 18 – 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Remove the muffins and place on a rack to finish cooling.

You can use the same amount of regular flour if you don’t have wheat or gluten issues.  If you use regular wheat flour, eliminate the xanthum gum. In addition to making wheat free modifications, I altered the spices a bit.  I didn’t think Makua would be too crazy about the nutmeg, allspice or cloves so I toned those down a bit and added more cinnamon.  It did take him one or two muffins before he ate the whole thing himself, but he LOVES these muffins now.  He asks for them all the time.

I like to freeze these and defrost them in the toaster oven. They taste fresh baked that way. Just place the muffin in the toaster oven and set the toaster on medium. That works well with what we have. To avoid cross contamination with my son’s food, I use the foil liners you can buy at the grocery store. After taking it out of the freezer, I unwrap the muffin (make sure you use both the paper and foil liner- if you just use the foil, it rips easily when you’re unwrapping them) and place it on the foil liner in the toaster oven. Then I don’t have to worry about latent crumbs ending up on his muffin.

4 Comments

Filed under breakfast, FAF, muffins

4 responses to “Muffins for Everyone!

  1. I have to say those muffins were delish 🙂 good work!

  2. These look tasty–I love any baked good involving a sweet potato! I’m a little intimidated by the xanthum gum, though. At only a 1/4 tsp, what does it do for the muffin?

  3. kamaile

    The xanthum gum just helps to thicken up the batter a bit since rice flour has no gluten in it. I forgot to mention that if you use regular flour, you don’t need xanthum gum. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  4. I have done sweet potato bread an muffins would also work great. They look really good!

Leave a Reply

