Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

So it’s been awhile hasn’t it?  I always wonder what goes on when people quit posting to their blogs.  Nothing catastrophic has happened to me over the last couple years.  Life just got a little busier and blogging fell to the backseat.

I need to start posting recipes again though.  I make modifications to recipes and then I forget what I did.  It’s unfortunate.

I bought a couple bags of apples for super cheap a few weeks ago.  I’ve been trying to use them up before they go bad.  These pancakes were a tasty addition to my apple recipe file.  Lovely fall flavors.

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

1 c flour (I used 1/2 white, 1/2 whole wheat)

1 T packed brown sugar

1 t baking powder

1/4 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1 t ground cinnamon

1 egg, beaten

1 c buttermilk

2 T melted butter

1 large apple, peeled, cored and coarsely grated

1.  Combine the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl.  Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and set aside.

2.  Combine the egg, buttermilk and melted butter in a small bowl.  Add the egg mixture all at once to the flour mixture.  Stir just until the flour is moistened.  The batter will be a little lumpy.

3.   Fold in the grated apple.  If the mixture is too thick you can add a couple tablespoons of additional buttermilk or regular milk to thin it out.

4.  Pour a 1/4 cup of batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or frying pan.  Flip when the edges are golden brown.

Sorry there’s no photo.  They were gobbled up before I thought to take a picture.

1 Comment

Filed under breakfast, fruit

One response to “Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

  1. I noticed this right away. Thanks for the recipe. I may try this since I don’t have to buy a boat load of apples to try this. 🙂

Leave a comment